Skip to content

General Election 2015: Which education MPs came up trumps?

8th May 2015

Here is a full list of how our education MPs got on in the election:

Nicky Morgan, education secretary, IN

Morgan was fighting a marginal seat in Loughborough and many predicted it would be another close call between the Conservatives and Labour.

But she all but romped home with a majority of 17.7 per cent, picking up nearly 50 per cent of the vote.

David Laws, schools minister, OUT

One of the biggest shocks in the education world, Laws lost his Yeovil seat to Conservative Marcus Fysh who got a 9.3 per cent majority. He was 1/4 on Thursday morning to win back his seat.

Nick Gibb, school reform minister, IN

Gibb increased the Tory stronghold in Bognor Regis and Littlehampton with a 29.6 per cent majority.

Edward Timpson, children’s minister, IN

Timpson’s Crewe and Nantwich ward was singled out as a potential upset, but he won with a 7.3 per cent majority.

Nick Boles, minister for skills and equality, IN

Huge majority of 35.3 per cent in Grantham and Stamford for Boles.

Sam Gyimah, childcare minister, IN

Another easy victory for Gyimah who got a 40.4 per cent majority in his Surrey East ward.

Graham Stuart, chair of the education committee, IN

Won with a 23.2 per cent majority in Beverley and Holderness.

Tristam Hunt, shadow education secretary, IN

Hunt held his Stoke-on-Trent Central seat with a 16.7 per cent majority


Read more on the Schools Week website